This one is for you.

Is it bad ju-ju to start blogging a recipe before you have finished your meal?

I can’t decided whether to tell you that is a good thing, or a bad thing. Because it could mean one of two things.

One, I either loved this recipe and couldn’t wait to share it with you, or two, the meal you are about to gaze over was not tasty enough for me to finish my plate.

I’ll let you be the judge of that. But wait while I finish my meal and do my dishes.

Now that folks, is bad ju-ju. And a kitchen/dinner/blog no no for me. Meaning, I am typically a clean as you go kind of cook, I prefer not to eat with that kind of a mess hanging out behind me, and I certainly can not blog with dirty dishes clouding my brain. Kitchen OCD-isms.They continue to come out, slowly but surely.

So, now that my meal is finished and my kitchen is shiny clean, lets chat.

Vegan, GF, Mac and Cheese anyone?

I came across this recipe on my latest blog stumble. Manifest Vegan; Smokey Butternut Mac and Cheese. Sounds a little more appealing then Vegan, GF, Mac and Cheese, huh? Lets be honest, no one wants to hear what they are missing out on, they want to know what they are getting. Smokey Butternut Squash Mac and Cheese.

I cut the recipe in half because I was eating solo tonight. SHH is in Canada for the week. Be expecting some, Ionely and eating my feelings, treats.

But back to the mac.

  • 8 oz brown rice pasta, macaroni to trap in the yummy sauce.
  • 1 cup cashews, soaked in water for 3 hours and drained.
  • 1 cup of almond milk + (to thin).
  • 1/2 tablespoon lemon juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • One half of a fully cooked butternut squash
  • 2 tablespoons + 2 teaspoons nutritional yeast
  • 1/2 teaspoon minced garlic
  • 3/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 1/2 cups kale, chopped and de-stemmed
  • 3/4 teaspoon coconut oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon of sea salt
  • 1 teaspoon of smoked paprika

Start by soaking cashews in water for 3 hours. Move onto squash. Preheat oven to 350. Slice both ends off your squash and cut in half. De-seed and rub with sea salt and fresh garlic. Place in a casserole dish (interior facing down) with roughly 1/4 cup water. Cook for 45 minutes, take out of the oven, and let cool.

Cook pasta according to direction under cooking by a minute or two. Place pasta back into pan and move onto food processor. Don’t you just love processing?

Place soaked and drained cashews in processor with squash (sliced in 1 inch chunks), 1/2 cup almond milk, lemon juice, lemon zest, nutritional yeast, and 3/4 teaspoon of salt. Process for 7 minutes. Add additional 1/4 cup almond milk to thin sauce out. Transfer into a pan and warm sauce on medium heat. Stir often and fold in smoked paprika.

I would recommend at this point to start with the dishes.

In a frying pan, add coconut oil, sea salt, and chopped kale. Saute until slightly wilted, roughly 3 minutes.

Stir sauce, and kale into cooked pasta.

My best friend, bridesmaid, crazy ginger, Scotland adventurer of a friend Lauren and I, have always had this saying,“I love you more then Mac and Cheese, and that is a lot”. I’m not entirely sure where this came from, because I was never a must have my blues kind of kid and today I can’t have gluten while Lauren is allergic to dairy.

So, this post seems appropriate to dedicate to her, all the way over there in Scotland. 

I love you more then butternut squash mac and cheese.